Sunday, July 5, 2015

Oxburgh Hall and Castle Acre

3 July 2015

We decided to visit Oxburgh Hall, a fortified and moated manor house, built in 1482 by the Bedingfeld family.  Apart from the very interesting architecture, there was some gilt leather "wall paper" that was most unusual. Obviously we couldn't touch the wall coverings, but they had provided a piece that could be touched.  It was quite thin leather, and the pattern was embossed on it and then coloured and gilded.  There was also a library that looked so comforting, and which had a jib (concealed) door, which when shut looked just like a bookcase full of books.

Gilded Leather Wallpaper

The Library

Concealed Door

The Hall also had on display three embroideries done by Mary Queen of Scots and Bess of Hardwick when the former was a prisoner at Fotheringhay. The panels were mounted onto the green hangings at a later date.

One of the towers of the castle had a priest's hole cut into the thick stone walls, and it is believed that it was used twice. Spiral stairs lead up to the roof of one of the towers, where there are extensive views over the Norfolk countryside.

After going around the castle and then having some lunch we went to the village of Castle Acre, which has an old priory and a castle.  The village looked lovely as we drove through it en route to the Priory. When we got to the ruined priory it was really quite expensive to go in, so we just had a look from outside the fence, and then headed back to the picturesque village for a cup of tea and a piece of cake.  On the way out we stopped by the ruined castle and took a photo and then headed back to our accommodation.

Castle Acre Priory

Castle Acre

No comments:

Post a Comment